Phi Beta Kappa Celebrates 100 Years at Randolph-Macon with New Inductees

News Story categories: Student Life
Phi Beta Kappa inductees from the Class of 2023 group photo

Randolph-Macon College’s Zeta Chapter of the Phi Beta Kappa (PBK) Society inducted 34 new members from the Class of 2023 during a celebratory dinner on May 26. The Commencement weekend event marked the 100th anniversary of the establishment of a PBK chapter at Randolph-Macon.

Since its founding in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa has celebrated excellence in the liberal arts and sciences and championed freedom of thought as America’s most prestigious academic honor society. Each chapter can elect no more than 10% of its graduating class, and RMC is among just 10% of U.S. colleges and universities with a PBK chapter.

President Robert R. Lindgren commended the inductees on their commitment to excellence and their impact on the College.

“This night is always one of my very favorites in the Randolph-Macon College year, as I am so deeply impressed by you inductees—your dedication, your accomplishments, and most especially, your potential—and I am deeply honored to be here tonight to help celebrate you,” President Lindgren said. “Each of you has enriched this college by your contributions, both in and outside the classroom, and as a result, have helped make Randolph-Macon a better place for future generations of students.”

In addition to induction into PBK, Megan Gunn ’23 and Spencer Willett ’22 were each honored with the John B. and Anita S. Werner Award. The award is given annually to no more than two graduating seniors who have been elected to PBK and made outstanding contributions to the College and community.

The following 2023 graduates were inducted into the Zeta Chapter of PBK:

  • Noah Babin
  • Jillian Bennett
  • Jacob Bowling
  • Alex Chapman
  • Nicholas Chaturia
  • Emma Churchman
  • Gina Borrero
  • Sam Dantzler
  • Rebecca Faletti
  • Megan Gunn
  • Laney Hausler
  • Grace Holderman
  • Kelsey Johnson
  • Emma LeBlanc
  • Ryan Malick
  • James Manning
  • Aaron Marker
  • Camryn Mason
  • Faith Mayhew
  • Catie Meehan
  • Ryan Mero
  • Mary O’Sullivan
  • Ethan Olmsted
  • Caroline Pearson
  • Mackenzie Phillips
  • Sydney Price
  • Morgan Puglisi
  • Josh Raugh
  • Natalie Robinson
  • Becca Shaw
  • Holden Trimmer
  • Anna Wachsmuth
  • Spencer Willett
  • Alex Wise