Transfer Merit Awards and Scholarships

Transfer Merit Awards and Scholarships

(Beginning with fall 2017 entrants)     

All transfer applicants to Randolph-Macon College are automatically considered for a Transfer Merit Award or Scholarship, but you should apply for admission by the Priority Application Deadline for the semester you intend to enroll (June 1st for fall semester and December 1st for spring semester). Eligible candidates will be notified of their award in their acceptance letter. Award recipients may also qualify for other types of aid based on demonstrated need.


The primary criterion for our transfer merit awards and scholarship selection is academic achievement. We also consider leadership in school and the community and personal accomplishments or talents. To give you an idea of what you will need to qualify for one of our merit awards or scholarships, we have provided you with a list of our awards and the GPA range of most recipients. The GPA listed is a cumulative college GPA, based on all college level work attempted. To qualify based solely on this cumulative college GPA you must have completed at least 21 hours of transferable college level work. Admitted transfer students below 21 hours of transferable college level work will be considered for similar awards based on a combination of high school transcripts, SAT and/or ACT scores, and any college transcripts.

Cumulative College GPA*

Merit Award or Scholarship

3.7 - 4.0

Presidential Scholarship of $20,500

3.5 - 3.69

Trustee's Award of $19,500

3.0 - 3.49

Dean's Award of $18,000

Below 3.0

Students below a 3.0 will be considered for merit awards on a case by case basis. 

*Cumulative College GPA = All work attempted at the college level.

All merit awards are awarded at the discretion of the admissions committee. Excessively low marks, negative trends, or disciplinary action could impact a student’s award.