ODK Awards Honor Excellence

May 14, 2018


smiling student and presidentRandolph-Macon College's annual Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) Leadership Awards ceremony was held May 6, 2018 in Birdsong Hall. Founded in 1914, ODK is a national Leadership Honor Society that recognizes and encourages superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character.

The R-MC charter of ODK was founded in 1933. Membership is awarded to elected undergraduate juniors and seniors whose cumulative grade point average places them in the top 35 percent of the R-MC student population. Candidates must also demonstrate leadership in at least one of the five phases of campus life in order to be selected: scholarship; athletics; campus community service, social and religious activities, and campus government; journalism, speech, and the mass media; creative and performing arts.

Gabriela Tersigni '19, president of ODK, welcomed guests. Following invocation by Chaplain Kendra Grimes and remarks by President Robert R. Lindgren, the following awards were given:

Man of Excellence: Tristan Ramsey '19

Woman of Excellence: Kelsie Burton '18

Outstanding Service to the Student Government Association: Hannah Moore '18

Asbury Christian Award: Sarah Rochte '18

Jewish Campus Life Award: Natalie Meyer '18

Leadership (group): Delta Zeta

Rodney Bardwell Award for Group Service: Habitat for Humanity

Outstanding Student Event: The Big Event

Freshman Leadership: Elizabeth Simmons '21

Sophomore Leadership: Ash Riley '20

Junior Leadership: Brianne Habit '19

Outstanding Seniors: Evelyn Archer '18, Timothy Alexander Daube '18, Essence Ellis '18, Kyle Keepers '18, Fraser Mayberry '18, Lauren Grace Wygal '18

Leadership (individual): Edward Saunders III '19

Darrell Headrick Award for Individual Service: Alina Pacione '18

Grant Azdell, vice president for Student Affairs and dean of students, serves as the ODK faculty advisor. In his closing remarks, Azdell said, "Student leadership is one leg of a three-legged stool with faculty and staff making up the other two. Together we can make positive change happen to everyone."