Current News

Joan and Macon Brock Jr. ’64 Receive Leadership Award

Nov 20, 2015

The CIVIC Leadership Institute presented Joan and Macon Brock Jr. '64 the prestigious Darden Award for Individual Leadership on November 18, 2015 at the Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center in Norfolk, Virginia.

The CIVIC Leadership Institute connects executive leaders through service to improve life in Hampton Roads, Virginia, and each year the Leadership award is presented to an individual whose contributions and service have made significant impacts in the Hampton Roads community. Established in 2005, the Darden Award for Regional Leadership is named for CIVIC Leadership Institute's Founder Emeritus, the late Joshua P. Darden Jr.

Joan and Macon Brock receive flowers

Extraordinary Philanthropy
Among their many other contributions, the selection committee especially noted the Brocks' philanthropy. Each has chaired the Chrysler Museum Board of Directors and both are donors to a number of colleges and universities, including their alma maters: Randolph-Macon College, Longwood University and Old Dominion University.

"I join the Randolph-Macon College community in congratulating Macon and Joan on this well-deserved recognition," says R-MC President Robert R. Lindgren. "The Brocks' philanthropy and commitment to helping others is truly awe-inspiring. Through the years, they have shared their time and resources and made such an important difference in the lives of so many. The Randolph-Macon College family offers our heartfelt gratitude and congratulations to our dear friends, Macon and Joan."  

Joan and Macon Brock Jr. '64
The Brocks' contributions to the community are extensive.
The Chesapeake Bay Foundation's Brock Environmental Center, at Pleasure House Point in Virginia Beach, Virginia, in named in the Brocks' honor and is one of the most energy efficient, environmentally smart buildings in the world. The couple also recently celebrated the opening of the new home of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation's Hampton Roads office, and Lynnhaven River NOW, a river restoration project.

Throughout the years, the Brocks have supported R-MC in many ways. The Brock Sports and Recreation Center, the Brock Residence Hall in Thomas Branch, and renovations to Fox and Haley Halls were all made possible with the help of the Brocks. In addition, the Brocks endowed the Joan and Macon Brock Professorship in Psychology, which is currently held by Professor Kelly Lambert. Most recently, the Brocks helped facilitate the construction of Brock Commons student center through their $5 million gift.

Brock graduated from Randolph-Macon College in 1964 with a B.A. in Latin. He went on to Quantico, Virginia for Marine Corps Officer training, served in Vietnam and was a special agent with the United States Naval Intelligence at the Norfolk Naval Station before becoming a successful entrepreneur, co-founding K and K Toys and Dollar Tree, Inc. Joan Brock earned a B.A. in secondary education with a minor in mathematics from Longwood College (now Longwood University), and a master's degree in humanities from Old Dominion University. She is a major shareholder of Dollar Tree, Inc. and served for 11 years as assistant secretary/treasurer for the company. Her career began in her father's variety store, at that time called K&K 5 &10, which eventually became K& K Toys, Inc.

Macon Brock served on the R-MC Board of Trustees from 1992-2009 and is a former member of the college's Board of Associates. Macon and Joan each chaired, at the same time, the Board of Trustees of a Virginia residential liberal arts college, R-MC and Virginia Wesleyan College respectively. In 2009, Macon and Joan Brock each received an Honorary Doctor of Laws degree from the R-MC. In addition, Macon serves as chairman of R-MC's capital campaign, Building Extraodinary, a $115 million initiative. The Brocks have also provided substantial support to Virginia Wesleyan College and to Longwood University, where it was used to create Brock Commons, the centerpiece of the campus.

In 2014, the Brocks were awarded the Council of Independent Colleges Award for Philanthropy.