What is Waw Qoppa San?

Eta Sigma Phi is an honorary collegiate society for students of Latin and/or Greek. Members are elected by local chapters which have been chartered by the society.

Founded in 2016 by three R-MC students, Waw Qoppa San received its name from three archaic Greek letters that were omitted when the alphabet transitioned into ancient Attic Greek. Waw Qoppa San currently serves under Eta Sigma Phi, the Classical Languages Honors Fraternity, as a Classics club aimed at involving all undergraduate students interested in Classical Studies without membership requirements. By working in conjunction with Eta Sigma Phi, Waw Qoppa San seeks to foster a campus-wide interest in classics and classical languages.

Eligibility Requirements

There are no eligibility requirements for membership in Waw Qoppa San, just a love of the ancient world!

After joining Waw Qoppa San, if a student has achieved the eligibility requirements for Eta Sigma Phi membership, they may be selected for Eta Sigma Phi membership as well as retain their membership in Waw Qoppa San. Waw Qoppa San membership is not required for induction into Eta Sigma Phi.

For more information about Waw Qoppa San, contact Dr. Bartolo Natoli (bartolonatoli@rmc.edu), the Waw Qoppa San faculty adviser.

Waw Qoppa San Officers, 2017-2018

  • Molly Karaman (Chair)
  • Mathieu desRochers (Adviser to the Chair)